Please join us on Friday, June 29th, 2018 at 10am PT// 12 noon CT// 1pm ET via YouTube Live:

What the 2018 CDC Estimates Mean for Women

Nationally, an estimated 1.1 million people have indications for PrEP. Of these, 176,670 are cis women. Among cis women with indications for PrEP, 64% are Black, 18% are Latinx, and 14% are white.

Join us for a conversation about what these estimates mean for our work.

Our panelists are:

  • Dawn K. Smith, Centers for Disease Control, Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
  • Dominika Seidman, Department of Ob/Gyn & Reproductive Sciences, UCSF
  • Leisha McKinley-Beach, U.S. Women & PrEP Working Group

Moderated by Yamini Oseguera-Bhatnagar

Register here

[Can’t attend the live event? Register to receive a link to the recorded Hangout].

Need more info? Email Yamini at yamini@hiveonline.org

****************************************

More about ::Hangouts with HIVE::

::Hangouts with HIVE:: began in November 2015 as a way to learn and share the good work of innovative advocates and providers with a commitment to HIV prevention. Since 2015, ::Hangouts with HIVE:: has featured the vision and work of over 50 champions from all over the U.S.

In 2018, ::Hangouts with HIVE:: is taking a closer look at the reasons for HIV acquisition among women. We’ll be thinking and talking about the ways women may or may not engage in health care, manage competing priorities, navigate systems (criminal justice, social services, child welfare) and are impacted by gross racial inequities.  We hope to learn together with our panelists and viewers to shift our practice to better serve women.