Did you miss us?

::Hangouts with HIVE:: is back and we’re going to school ALL SUMMER LONG! We’ll host Hangouts on various topics through the summer, so stay tuned!

Will you join us?

Our first Hangout will take place on June 4th, 2018 at 12pm PT// 2pm CT// 3pm ET via YouTube Live:

Caring for Women who are Substance Involved

Substance involvement makes women more vulnerable to HIV acquisition. The panelists will address the following questions:

  • What is the landscape of substance involvement among women?

  • What are drug policy issues at play?

  • How does incarceration and CPS involvement affect substance involved women?

  • How can providers work more effectively with women who are substance involved?

Our panelists are:

  • Joan Blakey, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

  • Monique Tula, Harm Reduction Coalition

  • Mishka Terplan, Virginia Commonwealth University

Moderated by Yamini Oseguera-Bhatnagar

Register here

[Can’t attend the live event? Register to receive a link to the recorded Hangout].

Need more info? Email Yamini at yamini@hiveonline.org

****************************************

More about ::Hangouts with HIVE::

::Hangouts with HIVE:: began in November 2015 as a way to learn and share the good work of innovative advocates and providers with a commitment to HIV prevention. Since 2015, ::Hangouts with HIVE:: has featured the vision and work of over 50 champions from all over the U.S.

In 2018, ::Hangouts with HIVE:: is taking a closer look at the reasons for HIV acquisition among women. We’ll be thinking and talking about the ways women may or may not engage in health care, manage competing priorities, navigate systems (criminal justice, social services, child welfare) and are impacted by gross racial inequities.  We hope to learn together with our panelists and viewers to shift our practice to better serve women.